20.9 C
New York
Thursday, May 23, 2024

The Complete List of MR. OLYMPIA Winners Year by Year

In 1965, Joe weider(creator of Mr. Olympia) first endeavored for Mr. Olympia at the inaugural event of the Brooklyn Academy of Music. 16 men have won the title of Mr. Olympia, starting with Larry “the Legend” Scott and most recently, Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay. So here are the Winners list starting with Scott and finishing with your 2021 Sandow winner, Big Ramy.

#1. Larry Scott

First Mr. Olympia Winner in 1965, and also he was the first man who defend the title in 1966. After his victory in 1966, he was retired and remains the only undefeated Mr. Olympia Champion.  

Larry Scott – First Mr. Olympia Winner in 1965 & 1966

#2. Sergio Oliva

Sergio “The Myth” Oliva won three Mr. Olympia titles from 1967- 1969

Sergio Oliva – Mr. Olympia 1967- 1969

#3. Arnold Schwarzenegger

Arnold Schwarzenegger won six consecutive Mr. Olympia titles from 1970-1975, He was again back in 1980 Mr. Olympia sport and won the title for seventh time.

arnold workout arms
Arnold Schwarzenegger – Mr. Olympia 1970-1975, 1980

#4. Franco Columbu

Franco Columbu won the titles two times, first in 1976 and again in 1981. The very good thing about him was that he was one of Arnold’s closest friends and training partners.

#5. Frank Zane

Three times Mr. Olympia winner(1977, 1978, and 1979) Frank Zane, was one of the legends in the sport.

#6. Chris Dickerson

Chris Dickerson won only one time Mr. Olympia in 1982. Also, he was inducted into Joe Weider’s Hall of Fame in 2000.

Chris Dickerson – Mr Olympia 1982

#7. Samir Bannout

Samir Bannout(the Lion of Lebanon) was also a one-time winners, he won the Mr. Olympia title in 1983.

Samir Bannout – Mr. Olympia 1983

#8. Lee Haney

He won the most Mr. Olympia titles, it was eight times from 1984-1991

#9. Dorian Yates

People known Dorian Yates’s name as storm in the 1990s, he won six consecutive titles from 1992 through 1997.

#10. Ronnie Coleman

Ronnie Coleman was known as man with the best arms in the sport of bodybuilding. He won record eight times from 1998 through 2005.

#11. Jay Cutler

Jay Cutler is a four-time winner of the Mr. Olympia title (2006, 2007, 2009, and 2010).

jay cutler mr olympia
Jay Cutler at Mr Olympia Stage

#12. Dexter Jackson

Dexter Jackson won the Mr. Olympia title for Once in 2008

#13. Phil Heath

Phil Heath had a seven time Mr. Olympia title win from 2011-2017. He was missed hitting Ronnie Coleman and Lee Haney’s Olympia records when he was defeated by Shawn Rhoden at the 2018 Olympia.

#14. Shawn Rhoden

Shawn “Flexatron” Rhoden defeating seven-time champion Phil Heath to win the 14th Mr. Olympia title in 2018

#15. Brandon Curry

Brandon Curry was 15th person to be awarded Mr. Olympia in 2019 for the best conditioning and size to the stage.

#16. Mamdouh ‘Big Ramy’ Elssbiay

During the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, Mamdouh ‘Big Ramy’ Elssbiay won the Mr. Olympia title and hold the trophy.

In 2021, After the sudden and unexpected passing of bodybuilding great George Peterson, the show went on and again this year Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay winning and holding on to the Mr. Olympia. In this year he defeated former Mr. Olympia Brandon Curry and third-place finisher Hadi Choopin.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles